Web Science Summer Graduate School

I’m attending the Web Science Summer Graduate School.
I thought this program would focus more on social aspects of the Web, and there would be people from diverse fields. In fact, almost all participants came from the CS field.
To me, the biggest issue is English, which is quite hard to speak and even harder to understand, especially when non-native speakers say. Another thing is the basic topic, the semantic Web, which I don’t really know about well. I should read general articles about the semantic Web and get myself familar with “ontologies” of this area. (But somehow it’s really hard to do at night. Too tired.)
First time I came in to class, everyone was so active and looked professional. Actually, most of them are Ph.D students. They have several papers and can be said to be experts. I was quite depressed because I felt they were very different from me. (Thesedays, I’m tatally occupied by my research topic. I should determine one ASAP). However, now I’m recovering courage as I talk with other people and feel getting closer to each other, I mean, personally. It’s definitely true, though, that they are really smart and professional.

I’m attending the Web Science Summer Graduate School.

I thought this program would focus more on social aspects of the Web, and there would be people from diverse fields. In fact, almost all participants came from the CS field.

To me, the biggest issue is English, which is quite hard to speak and even harder to understand, especially when non-native speakers say. Another thing is the basic topic, the semantic Web, which I don’t really know about well. I should read general articles about the semantic Web and get myself familar with “ontologies” of this area. (But somehow it’s really hard to do at night. Too tired.)

First time I came in to class, everyone was so active and looked professional. Actually, most of them are Ph.D students. They have several papers and can be said to be experts. I was quite depressed because I felt they were very different from me. (Thesedays, I’m tatally occupied by my research topic. I should determine one ASAP). However, now I’m recovering courage as I talk with other people and feel getting closer to each other, I mean, personally. It’s definitely true, though, that they are really smart and professional.

Web Science Summer Graduate School

Leave a Reply

